ANTI-WAR APPEAL

On 8 November 2002, the UN Security Council voted unanimously in support of Resolution 1441 on the disarmament of Iraq. It is now in the hands of Saddam Hussein, the weapons' inspectors and the members of the Security Council to prevent a war. We, European Parliamentarians, call on all sides and particularly on Tony Blair and Jacques Chirac as Members of the UN Security Council, to genuinely invest all their efforts to bring the Iraq crisis to a peaceful solution.

The lives and well being of millions of people is at stake. We are gravely concerned that a war with Iraq would have devastating social, economic and environmental consequences. It would further destabilise the region and could even lead to a full-scale regional war. It would contribute to heighten tension worldwide and foster international terrorism, under which the United States and Europe would be bound to suffer.

We are very concerned that any error or minor deviation from the rules laid down in resolution 1441 could be used as a pretext for war. We appeal to all the decision-makers concerned: take your responsibility seriously.

The United Nations is founded on the principle that "all members shall settle their international disputes by peaceful means". We understand the feelings of vulnerability to outside threats motivating the policy of the United States after 11 September. However, no country, as powerful as it might be, should be allowed to set its own rules and have the monopoly of their interpretation. We firmly believe that the only reasonable hope to reduce the worldwide risks of conflict in the future remains an active policy of multilateral arbitration through democratic means, on the local, regional and international level.

We call on all Members of the UN and particularly on those voting in the UN Security Council to:

STOP THE WAR ON IRAQ
NEGOCIATE A GLOBAL PEACE PLAN FOR THE MIDDLE EAST
PROMOTE FURTHER STEPS OF WORLDWIDE DISARMAMENT
STRENGTHEN UN CAPACITIES FOR CONFLICT PREVENTION AND NON-VIOLENT
CONFLICT RESOLUTION

WE CALL FOR A PARLIAMENTARY DELEGATION TO BE SENT TO IRAQ AS SOON AS POSSIBLE IN MORAL SUPPORT FOR THE INSPECTION MISSION AND IN ORDER TO UNDERLINE OUR DESIRE FOR A PEACEFUL SOLUTION TO THE TENSIONS IN THE MIDDLE EAST

Signatories of anti war in Iraq appeal

Ahern Nuala (GREEN/EFA) Ainardi Sylviane (GUE/GNL) Auroi Danielle (GREEN/EFA) Bakopoulos Emmanouil (GUE/GNL)

Baltas Alexandros (PSE)

Blak Freddy (GUE/GNL)

Bonde Jens-Peter (EDD)

Boudjenah Yasmine (GUE/GNL)

Boumedienne Alima (GREEN/EFA)

Bouwman Theo (GREEN/EFA)

Breyer Hiltrud (GREEN/EFA)

Brie André (GUE/GNL)

Buitenweg Kathalijne (GREEN/EFA)

Carlotti Marie-Arlette (PSE)

Carnero Gonzalez Carlos (PSE)

Caudron Gérard (GUE/GNL)

Celli Giorgio (GREEN/EFA)

Cohn-Bendit Daniel (GREEN/EFA)

Couteaux Paul Marie (EDD)

De Keyser Véronique (PSE)

De Roo Alex (GREEN/EFA)

De Rossa Proinsias (PSE)

Desir Harlem (PSE)

Dhaene Jan (GREEN/EFA)

Di Lello Finnuoli Giuseppe (GUE/GNL)

Di Pietro Antonio (ELDR)

Echerer Mercedes (GREEN/EFA)

Eriksson Marianne (GUE/GNL)

Evans Jill (GREEN/EFA)

Ferreira Anne (PSE)

Fiebiger Christel (GUE/GNL)

Figueiredo IIda (GUE/GNL)

Flautre Hélène (GREEN/EFA)

Frahm Pernilla (GUE/GNL)

Fraisse Geneviève (GUE/GNL)

Frassoni Monica (GREEN/EFA)

Gahrton Per (GREEN/EFA)

Garot Georges (PSE)

Gonzalez Laura (GUE/GNL)

Görlach Willi (PSE)

Guy-Quint Catherine (PSE)

Hautala Heidi (GREEN/EFA)

Hazan Adeline (PSE)

Imbeni Renzo (PSE)

Isler Béguin Marie Anne (GREEN/EFA)

Jonckheer Pierre (GREEN/EFA)

Kaufmann Sylvia-Yvonne (GUE/GNL)

Kessler Margot (PSE)

Koulourianos Dimitrios (GUE/GNL)

Kreissl-Dörfler Wolfgang (PSE)

Lagendijk Joost (GREEN/EFA)

Lambert Jean (GREEN/EFA)

Lannoye Paul (GREEN/EFA)

Leinen Jo (PSE)

Lipietz Alain (GREEN/EFA)

Lucas Caroline (GREEN/EFA)

Lynne Liz (ELDR)

Maes Nelly (GREEN/EFA)

Manisco Lucio (GUE/GNL)

Markov Helmuth (GUE/GNL)

Marset Campos Pedro (GUE/GNL)

Martinez Martinez Miguel Angel (PSE)

McCormick Neil (GREEN/EFA)

McKenna Patricia (GREEN/EFA)

Medina Ortega Manuel (PSE)

Meijer Erik (GUE/GNL)

Menendez del Valle Emilio (PSE)

Miranda Joaquim (GUE/GNL)

Modrow Hans (GUE/GNL)

Morgantini Luisa (GUE/GNL)

Naïr Sami (GUE/GNL)

Napoletano Pasqualina (PSE)

Noqueira Camilo (GREEN/EFA)

Onesta Gerard (GREEN/EFA)

Paasilinna Reino (PSE)

Papayannakis Mihail (GUE/GNL)

Peres Salvador Jové (GUE/GNL)

Piétrasanta Yves (GREEN/EFA)

Poos Jacques (PSE)

Puerta Alonso José (GUE/GNL)

Rod Didier (GREEN/EFA)

Roth-Behrendt Dagmar (PSE)

Roure Martine (PSE)

Ruehle Heide (GREEN/EFA)

Sacconi Guido (PSE)

Sakelariou Jannis (PSE)

Sakellariou Jannis (PSE)

Sandbaek Ulla (EDD)

Sauquillo Franscisca (PSE)

Savary Gilles (PSE)

Scharbonchi Michel Ange (GUE/GNL)

Schörling Inger (GREEN/EFA)

Schroedter Elisabeth (GREEN/EFA)

Schulz Martin (PSE)

Seppänen Esko (GUE/GNL)

Sörensen Patsy (GREEN/EFA)

Souladakis Ioannis (PSE)

Staes Bart (GREEN/EFA)

Theorin Maj Britt (PSE)

Turmes Claude (GREEN/EFA)

Uca Feleknas (GUE/GNL)

Van Brempt Kathleen (PSE)

Van den Berg Max (PSE)

Van Lancker Anne (PSE)

Vinci Luigi (GUE/GNL)

Wuori Matti (GREEN/EFA)

Wurtz Francis (GUE/GNL)

Wyn Eurig (GREEN/EFA)

Zrihen Olga (PSE)